I’m thankful.

Traditionally Thanksgiving was all about giving thanks for that years harvest but as the generations have passed and more people have given the holiday their own little touches, it has become more about giving thanks and being thankful for all the things we have in our lives. Although Thanksgiving has come and gone this year I would like to share with you a few things I’m thankful for.

  1. Life: It’s such a cliché answer but it’s true. I have had my ups and downs in my life but I can definitely say I’ve lived a good 18 years. I’m thankful for the fact that there’s a roof over my head and food on my table. So many things could have gone completely wrong in my life and every day I’m thankful that they haven’t.
  2. Friends: Friends are absolutely amazing! Sometimes (or a lot of the time) we can be painful people and as annoying as we can get our friends are still there for us. They are there to keep us grounded and help us when we’re down. To call us out when we’re being total d-bags or point us in the right direction when we’re wayward. Without friends it’s likely that a good percentage of the world could have turned out to be emotional wrecks or completely different to how we are today and for that I’m thankful.
  3. Family: We spend so long around our family and without them we’d be completely different people. Our family is there when we’re happy and they’re there when we cry, our family is there when we’re enjoying life and they’re there when we just want to give up. Our family are constant support for any issues life throws our way and without a doubt they’re some of the most important people in our life.

    Side note: There are A LOT of families around the world that are forced to live at a disadvantage for any number of reasons and I don’t want to brag or sound obnoxious, but I’m DEFINITELY thankful that I’m not in one of those situations. I look-up to and admire those people in every way as some of the difficult situations have created some of the strongest people this world has ever seen.

  4. Opportunity: The opportunities we are given in life make us the people we are. Being able to travel to different countries or go on trips to certain places can give great experiences and teach useful information. Opportunity can come in various forms and although I haven’t taken on some of the opportunities I’ve been given I am very thankful I have been given the chance to learn and improve my life.

Thanksgiving is a day to be thankful for the things we are given in life but it’s not the ONLY day we can be thankful. People are thankful 365 days are year so instead of waiting for this day to make your appreciation known, speak up and let the people in your life know you appreciate them and what they’ve given you.

 

Leave a Reply

